Short answer: endpoint security is not really a question of which antivirus is best. Modern products from serious vendors all block common malware. The decision that changes the outcome for a small company is operational: does anyone actually watch the alerts, do you need recorded endpoint activity you can investigate, do you already own eligible Microsoft 365 licensing, are the laptops off your network most of the week, and is there a human who can isolate an infected machine at 2:00 AM. Answer those five questions first and the product shortlist narrows to two or three.

This guide compares six named platforms using each vendor’s own current documentation and published pricing pages, verified in September 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a price, this article says so instead of estimating. AtlasProfitAI did not run an independent malware laboratory test, and no detection-efficacy comparison appears below — that is stated plainly rather than implied.

Who this guide is for

It is written for the owner, operator or IT lead of a company with roughly 10–250 employees, running mostly Windows laptops with some macOS, with remote or hybrid staff whose devices spend much of the week outside any office network, and with no dedicated security team — often no dedicated security person at all. Purchasing authority sits with someone who has other jobs to do.

What this article does not cover: consumer antivirus, mobile device management as a discipline in its own right, network firewalls, email security gateways, backup platforms, cloud workload protection for production server fleets, or compliance certification programmes. It also does not cover Linux desktop estates in any depth. Those are separate decisions and pretending otherwise would make this list longer without making it more useful.

Three labels are used throughout so you always know what kind of statement you are reading. Documented vendor capability means the vendor states it in its own documentation or on its own pricing page, cited at the end. Atlas editorial judgement means it is our opinion, not a vendor claim and not a research finding. Illustrative scenario means the situation is written to demonstrate a method and is not a customer deployment.

How we compared these six platforms

The method is stated before any recommendation, because a recommendation without a method is just a preference. Every surviving platform was assessed against the same eleven criteria:

Candidates were dropped rather than padded. A platform only appears below if current first-party documentation supports the statements made about it. Where a vendor’s pricing page renders its figures through a client-side widget that returns no readable price — which is the case for two of the six — this article records that fact as a purchasing consideration instead of filling the gap.

Escalating endpoint protection levels shown as four rising steps: antivirus, next-generation antivirus, endpoint detection and response, then managed detection and response with human analysts.

Antivirus vs NGAV vs EDR vs MDR

Most confused endpoint purchases come from buying a category the company cannot operate. Four words matter, and they describe different things you are buying.

Antivirus blocks known and common malware, largely by recognising things that have been seen before. It is table stakes and it is effectively free with a modern operating system.

NGAV, or next-generation antivirus, adds behavioural and cloud-assisted, model-based detection. Instead of only asking “have I seen this file before”, it asks “is this process doing something a legitimate process would not do” — a script encrypting documents in bulk, a browser spawning a command shell, credentials being read out of memory.

EDR — endpoint detection and response — records what happened on the device and keeps that history so a person can investigate afterwards, then gives that person the means to act: kill a process, quarantine a file, isolate the host from the network. EDR is not primarily a stronger blocker. It is evidence plus leverage.

MDR — managed detection and response — adds the people. A vendor or partner security operations centre watches the alerts around the clock, triages them, investigates the ones that matter and, depending on the contract, responds directly on your endpoints.

The central point, and it is an Atlas editorial judgement: buying EDR without someone accountable for its alerts creates an expensive dashboard nobody watches. EDR generates work. If a 40-person company with no security staff licenses a powerful detection platform and nobody has the time or training to triage what it produces, the money bought a record of the incident rather than a response to it. For companies in that position, MDR at a lower prevention tier is usually a better purchase than unmanaged EDR at a higher one.

Distributed fleet of remote laptops and phones, each protected by an endpoint agent and reporting into a central management console.

Decision matrix: six endpoint options compared

All prices are the vendor’s own published figures, read in September 2026, with the billing basis the vendor states. Blank or vague entries are recorded as “Not publicly documented” rather than filled in.

ProductPublished priceWindows / macOSEDRManaged monitoring (MDR)Host isolationBest fitMain limitation
Microsoft Defender for Business$3.00 per user/month, paid yearly; included in Microsoft 365 Business Premium at $22.00 per user/month, paid yearly; servers add-on $3.00 per server instance/monthWindows, macOS, iOS, AndroidIncluded, described by Microsoft as EDR “optimized” for smaller businessesDefender Experts for XDR exists; price and eligibility contact sales onlyYes — isolate and contain device are documented response actionsCompanies already on Microsoft 365 Business Premium with someone willing to own the consoleCapped at 300 users; you inherit Microsoft’s alerts without Microsoft’s analysts unless you buy the managed service
CrowdStrike FalconFalcon Go $7.99 per device/month or $59.99 per device/year; Falcon Pro $14.99 or $99.99; Falcon Enterprise $19.99 or $184.99; Falcon Complete contact salesWindows, macOS, LinuxYes from Falcon Pro upward; Falcon Go is positioned as the next-generation antivirus tierYes — Falcon Complete is the vendor’s managed detection and response offering, price not publishedYes — documented containment on the platformSmall teams that want a self-serve purchase with a clear upgrade pathFalcon Go purchases are limited to a maximum of 100 devices, and the managed tier is the one without a public price
SentinelOne SingularitySingularity Complete $179.99 per endpoint annually; Singularity Commercial $229.99 per endpoint annually; Singularity Enterprise call for pricing. Prices displayed for 5–100 workstationsNot specified on the pricing page read; treat as a question for the partnerYes — extended detection and response listed across the Complete, Commercial and Enterprise columnsAdd-on at Complete, included at Commercial and Enterprise; MDR add-on price not publicly documentedYes — response and containment are core platform functionsCompanies that want autonomous prevention with a defined managed upgrade inside one platformAll purchases run through an authorised third-party partner, and SentinelOne states listed prices are not final pricing
Sophos Intercept X and Sophos MDRNot publicly documented — quote only. Sophos states “simple per-user pricing with no hidden extras” on its request-pricing pageNot specified on the pages read; confirm in the quoteYes — Intercept X is sold in tiers up to Advanced with XDRYes — Sophos MDR is a distinct 24/7 managed service lineDocumented as part of the managed response service; the precise permission model was not readable on the public pageCompanies that would rather buy endpoint protection and the security operations centre from the same vendorNo published price at any tier, so every comparison starts with a sales conversation
Huntress Managed EDRNot publicly documented — quote only. Huntress states pricing is based on the number of endpoints, identities, learners and data sourcesWindows and macOS agent, per Huntress documentationYes, and it is sold as managed rather than self-operatedYes — fully managed, backed by a 24/7 human-led security operations centreYes — Huntress describes its service as finding, isolating and stopping threatsCompanies with no security staff that want the people included by default rather than as an upgradeNo published price, no stated seat minimum, and the model assumes you want the vendor operating it, not you
Malwarebytes ThreatDownNot publicly documented — the Core, Advanced, Elite and Ultimate tiers are listed, but figures render through a client-side checkout widget and returned no readable priceNot specified per tier on the page read; confirm before signingYes at Advanced, described with built-in ransomware rollbackYes — Elite is the managed tier, Ultimate is the broader managed scope including identityDocumented as part of the detection and response tiersCompanies that want a clearly laddered path from prevention to managed responsePrices, seat minimums and per-tier operating-system support are all absent from the public page

The six platforms in detail

Microsoft Defender for Business

What it actually is: Microsoft’s endpoint protection product built specifically for smaller organisations, combining next-generation antivirus with a version of Defender for Endpoint’s detection and response that Microsoft describes as optimised for businesses up to 300 users.

Who should consider it: almost any company already paying for Microsoft 365 Business Premium, because it is already in the bundle. Also companies on cheaper Microsoft 365 plans who want endpoint protection that shares an identity and management fabric with everything else they own.

Verified pricing: Microsoft lists Defender for Business at $3.00 per user per month, paid yearly on an auto-renewing annual subscription. Microsoft 365 Business Premium, which includes it, is listed at $22.00 per user per month paid yearly, with a no-Teams variant at $18.79. Server coverage is a separate licence: Microsoft’s own documentation states the Defender for Business servers licence is priced at $3 per server instance.

EDR included or separate: included. Microsoft’s comparison marks endpoint detection and response as present in Defender for Business. Response actions including isolate device and contain device are documented, though the full manual response set differs between Defender for Endpoint plans, which is worth reading before assuming a specific action is available to you.

Managed response: available as a separate service, Microsoft Defender Experts for XDR, described as fully managed detection and response natively integrated in Microsoft Defender. Its price is not published; the page routes to a sales contact.

Deployment and administration: Microsoft documents onboarding paths for Windows 10 and 11, Mac, mobile and servers. Windows devices already joined to your tenant are the easiest case. Administration lives in the Microsoft Defender portal alongside the rest of your tenant security.

Buying route: direct from Microsoft, or through a Microsoft partner, on the same tenant billing you already use.

Where it disappoints: the 300-user ceiling makes it a product you may outgrow, and buying it changes nothing about the real gap in most small companies — nobody is looking at the portal. Licensing detail across Business Premium, Defender for Business, the servers add-on and the Defender for Endpoint plans is also genuinely hard to reason about without reading Microsoft’s documentation carefully.

CrowdStrike Falcon

What it actually is: a cloud-delivered endpoint platform with a single lightweight agent and tiers that add capability rather than swapping products. CrowdStrike states the platform supports Windows, macOS and Linux.

Who should consider it: a small company that wants to buy without a sales cycle, and a growing company that wants headroom. It is also a common request from cyber-insurance and enterprise-customer security reviews, which is a real-world purchasing factor even though it is not a technical one.

Verified pricing: CrowdStrike publishes per-device figures. Falcon Go is $7.99 per device billed monthly or $59.99 per device billed annually. Falcon Pro is $14.99 or $99.99. Falcon Enterprise is $19.99 or $184.99. Falcon Complete is contact sales. CrowdStrike also states that purchases of Falcon Go are limited to a maximum of 100 devices.

EDR included or separate: Falcon Go is positioned as the next-generation antivirus tier; detection and response capability belongs to Falcon Pro and above. If EDR is the reason you are buying, Go is not the tier.

Managed response: yes. CrowdStrike describes Falcon Complete as expert-led, 24/7 managed detection and response. Its price is not published, which means the tier most useful to a company without security staff is the one you cannot budget for from the website.

Deployment and administration: single agent, cloud console, monthly or annual billing on the self-serve tiers. CrowdStrike also operates a marketplace for platform integrations.

Buying route: self-serve online purchase for Go, Pro and Enterprise; sales contact for Complete.

Where it disappoints: the 100-device cap on the cheapest tier catches growing companies mid-year, and the price gap between unmanaged Enterprise and unpublished Complete is exactly where a small company has to make its hardest decision with the least information.

SentinelOne Singularity

What it actually is: an endpoint and extended detection platform built around autonomous, on-agent prevention and response, sold in packages that layer managed services on top.

Who should consider it: companies that want strong on-device autonomy — useful when laptops are frequently offline or off-network — and that are comfortable buying through a partner.

Verified pricing: SentinelOne publishes Singularity Complete at $179.99 per endpoint annually and Singularity Commercial at $229.99 per endpoint annually, with Singularity Enterprise listed as call for pricing. The page’s own fine print states pricing is displayed for 5–100 workstations, that all purchases are made through an authorised third-party partner, and that the displayed prices therefore do not reflect final pricing. Treat the published numbers as a reference point, not a quote.

EDR included or separate: extended detection and response is listed across the Complete, Commercial and Enterprise columns, so it is part of the package rather than a bolt-on.

Managed response: managed detection and response is listed as an add-on at Complete and as included at Commercial and Enterprise. The add-on price is not publicly documented.

Deployment and administration: agent-based with a central console. The per-tier operating-system support list was not readable on the pricing page reviewed, so confirm your exact macOS and Windows versions with the partner rather than assuming.

Buying route: authorised third-party partner, per SentinelOne’s own statement.

Where it disappoints: published prices that the vendor itself says are not final make budgeting awkward, and the 5–100 workstation basis means a 200-person company is in different pricing territory than the page suggests.

Sophos Intercept X and Sophos MDR

What it actually is: an endpoint protection line sold in tiers up to Advanced with XDR, plus Sophos MDR, a separate 24/7 managed detection and response service that Sophos markets around its own security operations centre.

Who should consider it: companies that would rather have one vendor supply both the software and the humans, and companies already working with a Sophos partner or managed service provider.

Verified pricing: not publicly documented. Sophos’s endpoint pricing page is a quote request that states you get “a no-obligation quote, customized to your needs” with “simple per-user pricing with no hidden extras”, and the MDR page routes to Get Pricing or Contact Us. The billing basis — per user — is documented. The number is not.

EDR included or separate: detection and response capability sits in the higher Intercept X tiers rather than the base tier, so the tier name on the quote matters more than the product name.

Managed response: yes, as a distinct 24/7 service line. The precise response mandate — specifically who is authorised to isolate one of your hosts and under what circumstances — was not readable on the public page, which makes it a contract question rather than a documented capability.

Deployment and administration: agent-based with a central cloud console, typically implemented with partner assistance.

Buying route: quote-driven, via the how-to-buy flow or a partner.

Where it disappoints: nothing about the commercial package can be compared before you talk to someone. For a 20-person company trying to compare three options in an afternoon, that is a real cost.

Huntress Managed EDR

What it actually is: a managed service first and a product second. Huntress describes combining managed detection and response with a 24/7 human-led security operations centre to find, isolate and stop threats, delivered through a lightweight agent for Windows and macOS.

Who should consider it: the company this whole article is about — 10 to 250 staff, no security team, remote laptops, nobody who will read a detection console. If your honest answer to “who watches the alerts” is “nobody”, a managed-by-default product is the category to shortlist.

Verified pricing: not publicly documented. Huntress states that pricing is based on your number of endpoints, identities, learners and data sources, and that all offerings are fully managed and backed by its 24/7 security operations centre with per-unit pricing. There is no dollar figure on the public pages and no stated numeric seat minimum, though the pricing page references minimum commitment terms.

EDR included or separate: included, and managed rather than handed to you.

Managed response: this is the core of the offer rather than an upgrade tier.

Deployment and administration: Huntress describes its agent as lightweight and user-friendly, designed for easy deployment on Windows and macOS. Because the vendor operates the detection workflow, the ongoing administrative burden on your side is smaller than with a self-operated platform — which is the point.

Buying route: direct request for pricing or a demo with Huntress.

Where it disappoints: you cannot budget from the website, and if you do have security staff who want deep, hands-on control of the platform, a managed-first model can feel like a smaller instrument than they want.

Malwarebytes ThreatDown

What it actually is: Malwarebytes’ business endpoint line, sold as four laddered bundles — Core, Advanced, Elite and Ultimate — that move from prevention through detection and response to fully managed service.

Who should consider it: companies that want an obvious, legible upgrade path and a lower-friction alternative to enterprise-oriented platforms, particularly those already familiar with Malwarebytes.

Verified pricing: not publicly documented in any readable form. The ThreatDown pricing page lists the four tiers and their feature sets, but the numbers are rendered by a client-side checkout component and no price string was present in the page itself. Seat minimums are likewise absent. This article does not estimate them.

What each tier includes, in the vendor’s own words: Core is next-generation antivirus, described as AI-powered protection that stops threats before they get in. Advanced adds EDR, described as advanced detection and recovery with built-in ransomware rollback. Elite is MDR, described as 24/7 human-led threat monitoring and response. Ultimate is MDR Plus, described as comprehensive fully managed protection across devices and identities.

EDR included or separate: separate — it starts at Advanced. Core is prevention only.

Deployment and administration: agent plus cloud console. Per-tier operating-system support was not specified on the public page reviewed, so confirm your macOS and any server requirements explicitly.

Buying route: through the ThreatDown site, with the price surfaced only in the checkout flow.

Where it disappoints: a pricing page you cannot read is a pricing page you cannot compare, and the missing operating-system detail per tier is a genuine gap for a mixed Windows and macOS fleet.

When Microsoft Defender for Business is enough

If your company already pays for Microsoft 365 Business Premium, you already own Defender for Business. That changes the arithmetic of every other option on this page, because the alternative is not “spend nothing versus spend something” — it is “spend more on top of something you have already bought”.

Microsoft-native protection is plausibly sufficient when your fleet is predominantly Windows with some macOS and mobile, your headcount is comfortably under the documented 300-user limit, your devices are managed in your Microsoft tenant, and — the decisive condition — a specific named person has both the time and the mandate to check the Defender portal on a schedule, act on what it shows and escalate what they cannot resolve. Under those conditions you get prevention, endpoint detection and response, documented response actions including device isolation and containment, and a single administrative surface next to your identity and email controls, for $3.00 per user per month or nothing extra at all.

Microsoft-native protection alone does not solve the problem when nobody owns the console. This is the failure this guide most wants you to avoid. Licensing endpoint detection does not create a responder. If your alerts arrive at a shared mailbox that people check on Tuesdays, or the only person who understands the portal is also the person running payroll and answering the phones, then the operational gap is monitoring and response, and the correct purchase is people — either Microsoft’s own managed service, a managed service provider, or a managed-first vendor — not a bigger software licence. The same is true if your business genuinely needs coverage outside working hours: the software runs at 2:00 AM, but the decision to isolate a laptop does not make itself.

Keep the licensing claims tied to Microsoft’s own documentation when you plan this. The 300-user limit, the separate per-server-instance licence, and the differences in available manual response actions between Defender for Endpoint plans are all documented, and all three regularly surprise people mid-rollout.

Three illustrative small-business scenarios

ILLUSTRATIVE SCENARIOS — not Atlas customer deployments. The three situations below are written to demonstrate how the criteria above resolve into a shortlist. They are not case studies, they do not describe real companies, and no outcome, saving or incident result is claimed for any of them.

Scenario A — 15-person professional services firm, mostly Windows laptops, Microsoft 365, no security employee

Scenario B — 60-person hybrid company, mixed Windows and macOS, outsourced IT provider

Scenario C — 200-person business, internal IT manager, no 24/7 operations centre

Four-phase endpoint security pilot: agent deployment, rollout to a pilot device group, review of detections and telemetry, then a go or no-go decision.

The Atlas 14-Day Endpoint Security Pilot

This is an Atlas editorial framework, not an independently validated standard and not a vendor methodology. It exists because the most common endpoint mistake is not choosing the wrong product — it is deploying the right product across every device in one afternoon and discovering the consequences from angry colleagues. Nothing in this plan asks you to create or handle real malware; use only your vendor’s documented, supported validation mechanisms.

What to verify before signing

Ask for each of these in writing. Vague answers here become the gaps you discover during an incident.

Out-of-hours alert path: an infected laptop raises an alert overnight, it reaches a monitoring analyst, and the affected device is isolated from the network.

What happens at 2:00 AM?

This is the section that should drive the purchase. A detection is not a response, and the gap between them is made of people. Walk the chain:

  1. The software detects something. Every product here does this part competently. It happens in milliseconds and requires nobody.
  2. An alert is generated. Also automatic. It lands in a console, and possibly an email or a chat channel.
  3. Somebody sees it. Here the automation stops. At 2:00 AM on a Saturday, in a company with no security staff, the honest answer is usually “on Monday”.
  4. Somebody investigates. Is this a genuine compromise or a developer running an unusual tool? This needs skill and access to the endpoint history — which is what EDR provides and what nobody without training will read.
  5. Somebody isolates the endpoint. A decision with a business cost: you are cutting off a colleague’s laptop. It requires both technical permission and the authority to accept that cost.
  6. Somebody tells the business. Leadership needs to know, and if customer data is implicated there may be obligations with clocks attached.

Steps one and two come with the licence. Steps three through six come with people. That is why, for a small company with no security staff, MDR is frequently worth more than a stronger endpoint licence: the stronger licence improves steps one and two, which were never the constraint. This is an Atlas editorial judgement, not a vendor claim — but it is the judgement that reliably survives contact with a real incident.

Endpoint tooling is also only one layer. Two decisions sit either side of it and deserve their own attention: how you control identity and single sign-on, because most incidents start with credentials rather than malware, and how you train the people using the endpoints, because a phishing email that nobody clicks generates no alert to triage.

Limitations of this comparison

Sources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *